The Ellen Clarke Bertrand Library

Worldcat Library Catalog Journal Titles

Remote Access to Library Resources

FAQ

The Library

Q: Is the library open?
A: The library is closed until further notice. The 24-hour study space in the library will be open for student use. Students who are approved to remain on campus will need their BUID to gain access. Research Help is available to you via chat Monday - Thursday, 8am - 8pm, Friday, 8am - 5pm, and Sunday, 2pm - 8pm. You may also Meet with a Librarian for a research appointment. Technology support will remain available at 570-577-7777.

Borrowed Library Materials

Q: What do I do with the books I borrowed?
A: Books may be dropped off without penalty when you are back on campus in August or during Commencement Weekend. If you are on campus, you may return books via the book drop outside the library.

 

Q: I have an interlibrary loan book due soon that I need for a paper. What should I do? Can I renew my ILL book?
A: Please return your books borrowed via ILL at your earliest convenience when you're back on campus. There will be no fines for overdue items.

Getting Research Help

Q: Can I still get help with research for a paper or class project?
A: Yes!  Librarians are available for appointments, which may be conducted via Zoom, email, or telephone.  Also, you may ask short questions via library chat, which is available M-F 8am - 5pm.

Special Collections/University Archives

Q: How do I contact Special Collections/University Archives?
A: Staff are working remotely, however, incoming calls and email will be monitored during Special Collections/University Archives’ normal operating hours, Monday through Friday,  8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Send research questions and other requests to scua@bucknell.edu (preferred) or leave a voicemail message at 570-577-3101.

Q: Will Special Collections/University Archives respond to research inquiries? 
A: Send research questions to scua@bucknell.edu or leave a voicemail message at 570-577-3101.  

Most research inquiries rely on access to Special Collections/University Archives’ physical collections which are not available digitally. Staff will facilitate the best possible response during the time the Bertrand Library is closed and access to collections is not possible. This may mean placing questions in a queue and asking for your patience until the Bertrand Library reopens.

Q: Is there digital access to Special Collections/University Archives collections? 
A: The Digital Collections and Digitized Bucknell Publications tabs in the Special Collections/University Archives research guide have links to digitized collections. 

Q: Is the records management program still operating? 
A: Yes, the records management program is still operating within the confines of staff working remotely. Questions about your department’s review or other issues may be directed to 570-577-2419 (leave voicemail) or email ecd015@bucknell.edu. Information about the records management program may also be found in myBucknell.

Helpful Guides