An international bibliography covering the history of European and American art from antiquity to the present. Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealers catalogs published from 1975-2007.
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles from scholarly sources and specialized magazines in all fields of the humanities, including art and art history.
These websites are among many useful resources for Art and Art History on the Internet. Please note that museum websites and online image databases are not listed here. To find those resources, visit the Image Resources Research by Subject Guide.
Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multimedia web-book that aims to be a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook. In addition to featuring images and text, it contains audio files, videos, maps, and other multimedia content. This website has won numerous awards.
Want to see archival photographs of Jackson Pollock at work or read Albert Bierstadt's correspondence? The Smithsonian's Archives of American Art has digitized over one hundred collections of archival documents relating to American artists. If you are working on a topic relating to American art, this website is a great way to start research using primary sources.
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time, and narrative.