Getting Started
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and other full-text reference books. Access to individual reference titles is also available from the Bertrand Library catalog.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowAn excellent resource for beginning to develop a topic, GIC organizes its content around specific topics. "Browse Issues and Topics" to access multimedia portal pages on some of the world's most important issues.
Recommended Databases
- WorldCat Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowCitations of newspaper and periodical articles covering a broad range of subjects, including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central combines databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of Asian Studies includes over 900,000 citations of published resources on topics related to East, Southeast, and South Asia, with special focus on the humanities and social sciences and includes robust indexing. It the most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides current news and scholarly journal articles in all aspects of business, trade, and industry information. Also includes market, industry, and country research.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text to nearly 200 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. Will also display Bucknell's full-text access if Library Link is enabled.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowAn excellent resource for beginning to develop a topic, GIC organizes its content around specific topics. "Browse Issues and Topics" to access multimedia portal pages on some of the world's most important issues.
- Bucknell Citation GuidesIncludes information about and examples of different styles, such as Chicago, MLA, APA.
General News Sources
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. Search over 15,000 sources for up-to-the-minute and archived national and international news, company information, and federal and state court cases since 1789.
Where to Search: Selected Journals
For your research, you may wish to consult, among others, the following leading journals:
-
Asian Survey (JSTOR)
-
Asian Affairs (JSTOR, ProQuest)
-
Asian Perspective (JSTOR, Project Muse, ProQuest)
-
China: An International Journal (Project Muse)
-
the China Journal (JSTOR, and via publication website)
-
the China Quarterly (ProQuest, JSTOR)
-
Current History (ProQuest)
-
Foreign Affairs (Social Sciences Full Text link via Journal Titles, JSTOR)
-
Foreign Policy (JSTOR, Social Sciences Full Text)
-
International Organization (JSTOR, ProQuest, via publication website)
-
Journal of Chinese Political Science (ProQuest, via publication website via Journals A-Z list)
-
Pacific Affairs (JSTOR)
-
Survival (via Journal titles A-Z list through Ebsco link, journal website)
-
World Politics (Project Muse, JSTOR, ProQuest)
