Newspaper Sources
See the News Sources guide for current and additional newspaper sources.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch the New York Times (1851 - 2007), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1992), Washington Post (1877 - 1993) and the L.A. Times (1881 - 1986) and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic (1690-2000) newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images.
- Newspapers.com - World Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers.com (Library Edition) is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- Ethnic American Newspapers 1799-1971 This link opens in a new windowMore than 130 searchable newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states.
- Black Historical Newspapers - NY Amsterdam NewsNew York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Black Historical Newspapers - Chicago DefenderThe Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Black Historical Newspapers--Pittsburgh CourierPittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers cover-to-cover, including articles, advertisements, and illustrations.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Access to the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800); Civil War newspapers; African American newspapers (19th century); Godey’s Ladys Book (1830-1880); Delaware County, PA newspapers (1819-1870); and Chester County, PA Genealogical Catalogue (1809-1870).
- African American Newspapers, 1827 -1998 This link opens in a new windowExplore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Chronicling AmericaProvides free access to select American historic newspapers held in libraries across the country.
- Virginia GazetteThe Virginia Gazette newspapers, first published in 1736, served as a critical source of news for the colonists. This online collection includes images of almost all the known issues, which can be searched using the index or browsed by date.
- Selected PA Civil War NewspapersA collection of Pennsylvania newspapers from the civil war era dated from February 23,1831 to February 14,1877.
