Searching online for Art & Art History
Select online resources
These are just a few of the resources online where you can find research-based insight into art and art history.
-
The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryAuthored by experts working at the Metropolitan Museum of Art—curators, conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline includes more than 1,000 essays, more than 7,000 objects, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
-
The Getty Research Institute: Bibliography of the History of ArtAn international bibliography covering the history of European and American art from antiquity to the present. Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealers catalogs published from 1975-2007.
-
Getty Publications Virtual LibraryMore than 300 books, journals, and exhibition catalogs published by the J Paul Getty trust and made freely available.
-
SmarthistorySmarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multimedia web-book that aims to be a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook. In addition to featuring images and text, it contains audio files, videos, maps, and other multimedia content, much of which has been authored by or created in consultation with Art History Scholars.
-
Smithsonian Archives of American ArtWant to see archival photographs of Jackson Pollock at work or read Albert Bierstadt's correspondence? The Smithsonian's Archives of American Art has digitized over one hundred collections of archival documents relating to American artists