How can we understand the gender patterns of modern society? Are gender identities unstable? How do masculinities and femininities develop? Do gender patterns change under globalization? This is a readable introduction to modern gender studies, gender theories, and gender politics.
Since its publication in 1990, Gender Trouble has become one of the key works of contemporary feminist theory, and an essential work for anyone interested in the study of gender, queer theory, or the politics of sexuality in culture.
This volume includes a sociological discussion of gender, the history of intersex medicalization, the recent political mobilization of intersexed adults, and the implications of their activism on identity negotiation, medical practice, and cultural norms.
Written by a social worker, popular educator, and member of the transgender community, this well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination.
Author Lee Harrington helps make the intimate discussions of gender available for everyone to understand. This reader-friendly resource is written for students, professionals, friends, and family members, as well as members of the transgender community itself.
One of the most comprehensive databases in the social sciences, Sociological Abstracts includes coverage of fields including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Includes abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books, and book reviews.
This interactive graphic provides a general “map” of gender identities and expressions that people use, with their definitions and a few examples and further links and videos. Instead of the man vs. woman binary, this map uses Masculine, Feminine, Both, and Neither to describe a spectrum of identities.