Emphasizes the global, transgender, homonational, and posthuman conceptions of disability. Including physical disabilities, but exploring issues around pain, mental disability, and invisible disabilities, this edition explores more varieties of bodily and mental experience.
The first book to cover the entirety of disability history, from pre-1492 to the present. Disability is not just the story of someone we love or the story of whom we may become; rather it is undoubtedly the story of our nation.
Media representation of and for the disabled has been recharged in recent years with the expansion of new media worldwide. Interactive digital communications, such as the Internet, new varieties of voice and text telephones, and digital broadcasting have created a need for a more innovative understanding of new media and disability issues.
The first critical study of personal narrative by women with disabilities, Unruly Bodies examines how contemporary writers use life writing to challenge cultural stereotypes about disability, gender, embodiment, and identity.
Full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. It contains a wide variety of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.
One of the most comprehensive databases in the social sciences, Sociological Abstracts includes coverage of fields including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Includes abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books, and book reviews.