Finding Books and Articles - THEA 251 - Costume Design - Research by Subject at Bucknell University

Getting Started

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and other full-text reference books. Access to individual reference titles is also available from the Bertrand Library catalog.

WorldCat Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.

Performing Arts Database This link opens in a new window The Performing Arts Database offers access to citations, abstracts, and full text of articles from scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications. Subjects covered include dance, film, drama, opera, stagecraft, comedy, pantomime, puppetry, magic and television.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window This online portal offers access to reference articles, e-books, images, and other content relating to dress and fashion from across cultures and time.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window MLA is the primary research database for literary studies. It indexes books, journal articles, and other materials from 1963 to the present concerning literature, folklore, linguistics, modern languages, and the dramatic arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Contains citations, abstracts, and some full text of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window One of the most comprehensive databases in the social sciences, Sociological Abstracts includes coverage of fields including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Includes abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books, and book reviews.

Below, is a list of select print reference sources about fashion and costume history. Use WorldCat to find others.