Research by Subject: Engineering Standards: Finding Standards

Finding Standards

To find a specific standard, you will need to know (at least some of) the following:

Acronym and name of the publishing organization
Standard number
Title of the standard
Date of the standard
Subject of the standard

If you don't have a specific standard in mind, you can use the following databases to explore standards related to broad topics (e.g. plastic tubing). These databases can also be used to confirm information about a particular standard.

Full text availability varies by publisher and standard. You may be able to request full text standards through InterLibrary Loan.

Full Text Standards at Bucknell

Bertrand Library has access to full-text standards from a limited number of organizations.

Bucknell credentials required.

IEEE Xplore
The IEEE publishes many standards. Select Browse and then Standards to start exploring. Many of the standards are available in full text.
ASTM Standards
Use the search function to determine which print volume contains the ASTM standard you are searching for (listed in the Details section). Then, visit the Library to consult the print copy of the volume. The Library provides access to the 2021 Standards.
Accounting and Tax database
Search results can be filtered by document type to select professional Standards.

Publicly available.

Note: you may be required to register/create a free account.

ANSI IBR Portal
Search ANSI's Incorporated by Reference (IBR) standards portal. IBR allows Federal agencies to comply with the requirement to publish rules in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) by referring to materials already published elsewhere (NIST).
Downloading the free File Open plug-in is required.
ASTM Reading Room
View and read ASTM safety standards incorporated in United States regulations.
National Fire Codes (NFPA)
Full-text, read-only access to all National Fire Codes and Standards.

Engineering Standards Databases

Use the following databases to explore standards in general and to verify specific information for ILL requests. Full text access is only available for a few standards.

ANSI webstore
Search for standards from over 150 standards publishers. The ANSI Webstore is an online electronic standards web-based ordering and delivery system for U.S. and international standards.
TechStreet Database
Search 550,000+ standards from 150+ publishers. You will need to submit an Interlibrary Loan request to access full-text.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Search Engineering Village and then limit your search results using the Document Type filter, and select Standards. Note that most of these will not be available full text online.