Recommended databases
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowAn excellent resource for beginning to develop a topic, GIC organizes its content around specific topics. "Browse Issues and Topics" to access multimedia portal pages on some of the world's most important issues.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. Will also display Bucknell's full-text access if Library Link is enabled.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit provides citations and abstracts for international publications on economics since 1969. EconLit covers a broad range of document types, including journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and dissertations.
Types of sources
Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles are written by scholars or professionals who are experts in their fields. In the sciences and social sciences, they may include research results. Scholarly journals cite their sources through footnotes or bibliographies. (e.g. American Economic Review, Journal of Marriage & the Family) Tip - Search an article database (e.g.JSTOR, Research Library) and then limit the search to scholarly, peer-reviewed materials.
Substantive news articles are reliable sources of information about events and issues of public concern. News and general interest periodicals may cite sources, though more often do not. Articles may be written by a member of the editorial staff, a scholar or a freelance writer. Substantive news sources are accountable for the accuracy of their reporting and they adhere to journalistic standards. (e.g. Scientific American, New York Times) Tip - Search a news database (e.g. Historical Newspapers, US Newsstream) and use date limits that correspond with your needs.
Popular articles reflect the tastes of the general public and are often intended to entertain, promote a viewpoint, or to sell a product. Publications of this type do not cite sources in a bibliography. (e.g. Sports Illustrated, People)
Sensational tabloid articles are intended to arouse strong interest or reaction. They do not follow the standards of journalistic ethics, and are not factually accurate. They use flashy headlines designed to astonish or by falsely reporting on events. (e.g. National Enquirer, Globe)
