HIST 260: Black Women's History: Databases and Journals

This English language database indexes over 33,000 articles from over 280 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.

Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa includes an array of materials about the liberation and independence movements in Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

The collection includes photographs, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.

Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Black Authors, 1556-1922, offers more than 500 works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. Included are personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions.

Includes books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, health and family life.

Includes collections from the U.S. and Europe on the worldwide movement for the abolition of slavery in the eighteenth and nineteenth century.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Provides references to articles published since 1964 that deal with the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Features the digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s holdings of slavery and abolition materials, with more than 3,500 works published over more than 100 years. Materials include books, pamphlets, and ephemera.

In this website, we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.

This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:

Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)