Books available from the Bertrand Library catalog
-
The SAGE handbook of political science
by
Comprising three volumes of contributions from expert authors from around the world, The SAGE Handbook of Political Science aims to frame, assess and synthesize research in the field, helping to define and identify its current and future developments.
ISBN: 9781787858091Publication Date: 2020 -
Handbook on Impact Evaluation
by
Public programs are designed to reach certain goals and beneficiaries. Methods to understand whether such programs actually work, as well as the level and nature of impacts on intended beneficiaries, are main themes of this book. Has the Grameen Bank, for example, succeeded in lowering consumption poverty among the rural poor in Bangladesh? Can conditional cash transfer programs in Mexico and Latin America improve health and schooling outcomes for poor women and children? Does a new road actually raise welfare in a remote area in Tanzania, or is it a 'highway to nowhere'? This book reviews quantitative methods and models of impact evaluation. It begins by reviewing the basic issues pertaining to an evaluation of an intervention to reach certain targets and goals. It then focuses on the experimental design of an impact evaluation, highlighting its strengths and shortcomings, followed by discussions on various non-experimental methods. The authors also cover methods to shed light on the nature and mechanisms by which different participants are benefiting from the program. For researchers interested in learning how to use these models with statistical software, the book also provides STATA exercises in the context of evaluating major microcredit programs in Bangladesh, such as the Grameen Bank. The framework presented in this book can be very useful for strengthening local capacity in impact evaluation among technicians and policymakers in charge of formulating, implementing, and evaluating programs to alleviate poverty and underdevelopment.
ISBN: 9780821380291Publication Date: 2009-10-13 -
Trust in Numbers
by
A foundational work on historical and social studies of quantification What accounts for the prestige of quantitative methods? The usual answer is that quantification is desirable in social investigation as a result of its successes in science. Trust in Numbers questions whether such success in the study of stars, molecules, or cells should be an attractive model for research on human societies, and examines why the natural sciences are highly quantitative in the first place. Theodore Porter argues that a better understanding of the attractions of quantification in business, government, and social research brings a fresh perspective to its role in psychology, physics, and medicine. Quantitative rigor is not inherent in science but arises from political and social pressures, and objectivity derives its impetus from cultural contexts. In a new preface, the author sheds light on the current infatuation with quantitative methods, particularly at the intersection of science and bureaucracy.
ISBN: 9780691210544Publication Date: 2020-08-18 -
Economic Liberalization and Political Violence
by
This book shows that neoliberalism can help to end violent conflict as well as bringing about new, criminal forms of violence. It is an invaluable resource for students of political economy, development studies, and international relations.
Call Number: JZ1318 .E33 2010ISBN: 9781552504826Publication Date: 2010-01-01 -
Political science research in the Middle East and North Africa : methodological and ethical challenges
by
"Political Research in the Middle East and North Africa focuses specifically on doing research in one of the most important regions in contemporary world politics. It is also one of the most difficult areas to do research in given the current high levels of violence, political instability, and authoritarianism that plague the region. Gathering together a large and diverse group of researchers who study the region, Janine Clark and Francesco Cavatorta's volume will serve as a foundational methods guide for young academics on how to conceive and carry out their research projects. At the same time the topics in the book provide a useful refresher to more established scholars so that their methodological training and ethical considerations keep pace with novel approaches and changing obstacles in the field. What makes this volume especially useful is its focus on methodological 'lessons learned' from the contributors' first hand experiences. Each chapter deals with the challenges of implementing qualitative and quantitative methods in the field, the real-life obstacles encountered and the possible solutions to overcoming them. It will therefore be an invaluable companion book to more standard methods books, which focus on the 'how to' of methods but are often devoid of any real discussion of the challenges of on-the-ground fieldwork."--Publisher's summary
ISBN: 9780190882983Publication Date: 2018 -
The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations
by
Volume 1: Preface: So you're a grad student now? Maybe you should do this / Gary King -- Part I. Formulating good research questions and designing good research projects: 1. Asking interesting questions / William Roberts Clark -- 2. From questions and puzzles to research project / Adam McCauley, Andrea Ruggeri -- 3. The simple, the trivial and the insightful: field dispatches from a formal theorist / Branislav L. Slantchev -- 4. Evidence-driven computational modeling / Ravi Bhavnani, Karsten Donnay, Mirrko Reul -- 5. Taking data seriously in the design of data science projects / Mitchell Goist, Burt L. Monroe -- 6. Designing qualitative research projects: notes on theory building, case selection and field research / Ezequiel Gonzáles-Ocantos -- 7. Theory building for causal inference: EITM research projects / Thomas Bräuninger, Tilko Swalve -- 8. EITM: applications in political science and international relations / John Aldrich, Jim Granato -- Part II. Methods of theoretical argumentation: 9. Political psychology, social psychology and behavioral economics / Rose McDermott -- 10. Institutional theory and method / Maxfield J. Peterson, B. Guy Peters -- 11. Applied game theory: an overview and first thoughts on the use of game theoretic tools / Adam Meirowitz, Kristopher W. Ramsay -- 12. The spatial voting model / James Adams, Samuel Merrill III, Roi Zur -- 13. New directions in veto bargaining: message legislation, virtue signaling, and electoral accountability / Charles Cameron, Nathan Gibson -- 14. Models of coalition politics: recent developments and new directions / Lanny W. Martin, Georg Vanberg -- 15. Models of interstate conflict / James D. Morrow, Jessica S. Sun -- 16. Models of the judiciary / Deborah Beim -- 17. Wrestling with complexity in computational social science: theory, estimation and representation / Scott de Marchi, Branson M. Stewart -- 18. Learning and diffusion models / Scott J. LaCombe, Frederick J. Boehmke -- Part III. Conceptualization and measurement: 19. Conceptualization and measurement: basic distinctions and guidelines / Gerado L. Munck, Jørgen Møller, Svend-Erik Skaaning -- 20. Measurement models / Christopher J. Fariss, Michael R. Kenwick, Kevin Reuning -- 21. Measuring attitudes : multilevel modeling with post-stratification (MrP) / Lucus Leemann, Fabio Wasserfallen -- Part IV. Large-scale data collection and representation methods: 22. Web data collection: potentials and challenges / Dominic Nyhuis -- 23. How to use social media data for political science research / Pablo Barberá, Zachary C. Steunert-Threlkeld -- 24. Spatial data / David Darmofal, Christopher Eddy -- 25. Visualizing data in political science / Richard Traunmüller -- 26. Text as data: an overview / Ken Benoit -- 27. Scaling political positions from text: assumptions, methods and pitfalls / Benjamin C.K. Egerod, Robert Klemmensen -- 28. Classification and clustering / Sarah B. Bouchat -- 29. Sentiment analysis and social media /Luigi Curini, Robert A. Fahey -- 30. Big relational data: network-analytic measurement / Ernesto Calvo, Joan C. Timoneda, Tiago Ventura.
Volume 2: Part V. Quantitative-empirical methods: 31. Econometric modeling: from measurement, prediction, and causal inference to causal-response estimation / Robert Franzese -- 32. A principled approach to time series analysis / Suzanna Linn, Clayton Webb -- 33. Time-series-cross-section analysis / Vera Troeger -- 34. Dynamic systems of equations / Mark Pickup -- 35. Duration analysis / Kentaro Fukumoto -- 36. Multilevel analysis / Marco Steenbergen -- 37. Selection bias in political science and international relations applications / Tobias Böhmelt, Gabriele Spilker -- 38. Dyadic data analysis / Eric Neumayer, Thomas Plümper -- 39. Model specification and spatial interdependence / Scott J. Cook, Jude C. Hays, Robert Franzese -- 40. Instrumental variables: from structural equation models to design-based causal inference / Christopher L. Carter, Thad Dunning -- 41. Causality and design-based inference / Jake Bowers, Thomas Leavitt -- 42. Statistical matching with time-series cross-sectional data: magic, malfeasance, or something in between? / Richard A. Nielsen -- 43. Differences-in-differences: neither natural nor an experiment / Luke Keele -- 44. The regression discontinuity design / Marias D. Cattaneo, Rocío Titiunik, Gonzalo Vazquez-Bare -- 45. Network analysis: theory and testing / Jennifer N. Victor, Elsa T. Khwaja -- 46. Network modeling: estimation, inference, comparison, and selection / John P. Schoeneman, Bruce A. Desmarais -- 47. Bayesian methods in political science / Jong Hee Park, Sooahn Shin -- 48. Bayesian ideal point estimation / Shawn Treier -- 49. Bayesian model selection, model comparison, and model averaging / Florian M. Hollenbach, Jacob M. Mountgomery -- 50. Bayesian modeling and inference: a postmodern perspective / Jeff Gill, Simon Heuberger -- 51. Laboratory experimental methods / Rebecca Morton, Mateo Vásquez-Cortés -- 52. Field experiments on the frontier: designing better / Betsy Sinclair -- 53. Field experiments, theory, and external validity / Anna M. Wilke, Macartian Humphreys -- 54. Survey experiments and the quest for valid interpretation / Gustavio Diaz, Christopher Grady, James H. Kuklinski -- 55. Deep learning for political science / Kakia Chatsiou, Slava Jankin Mikhaylov -- 56. Machine learning in political science: supervised learning models / Santiago Olivella, Kelsey Shoup -- Part VI. Qualitative and 'mixed' methods: 57. Set theoretic methods / Adrian Duşa -- 58. Mixed-methods designs / Imke Harbers, Matthew C. Ingram -- 59. Case study methods: case selection and case analysis / Chiara Ruffa -- 60. Comparative analyses of foreign policy / Klaus Brummer -- 61. When talk isn't cheap: opportunities and challenges in interview research / Claire Greenstein, Layna Mosley -- 62. Focus groups: from qualitative data generation to analysis / Virginie Van Ingelgom -- 63. Interpretive approaches in political science and international relations / Xymena Kurowska, Berit Bliesemann de Guevara -- Editors' afterword / Luigi Curini, Robert Franzese.
ISBN: 9781526486400Publication Date: 2020
Political Science and International Relations Databases
-
PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA key source for starting political science research. Database includes scholarly articles, books, government publications, and more.
-
HeinOnline
Access via Firefox browser for best results. HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 1500 subject areas, including women’s studies, social justice, education, law, history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included HeinOnline’s journal collection features 3300+ periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
-
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada from 1990 to the present.
-
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new windowSpans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database indexes over 500 journals and periodicals.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of Asian Studies includes over 900,000 citations of published resources on topics related to East, Southeast, and South Asia, with special focus on the humanities and social sciences and includes robust indexing. It the most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia.
-
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new windowDigital collection of English-language resources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980, covering the history of China during two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval.
-
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1919-2013 This link opens in a new windowExplore history through the perspective of the Communist Party USA. Workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored within the pages of these Communist Party newspapers. In addition to content focused on workers’ rights and organized labor, other articles, analysis of international events, and ads reveal a glimpse of the people who made up the Communist Party.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press.
-
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides full access to every issue of the Economist since its first publication in 1843. Its back issues serve as key witnesses to the economic and political history of the last 170 years. They provide a unique, unbiased analysis of major world events, facilitate the comparison of economic trends across continents and centuries, and offer an ideal historical resource for cutting-edge ideas.
-
Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary resources about the rise and fall of Empires. Major sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; the Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; Race, Class, Colonialism, Imperialism.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press from 1991 to the present. Searches are available in English and Spanish, as well as by article type and ethnic group.
-
EUObserverEUobserver is a not-for-profit, independent online newspaper established in Brussels in 2000. We value free thinking and plain speech and aim to support European democracy by reflecting the voice of people and by giving people the information they need to hold the EU establishment to account.
-
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new windowThese three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new windowBibliography of social sciences and humanities works from 1936 to the present about Latin America.
-
HAPI This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Periodicals Index, a searchable index of information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Includes citations from more than 400 social sciences and humanities journals published from 1970 to the present.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowContains citations, abstracts, and some full text of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
-
International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowInternational Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
-
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window"The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. This vast collection includes material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
-
Newspapers.com - World Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers.com (Library Edition) is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central combines databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
-
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowIncludes books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, health and family life.
-
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
-
World Bank This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their website includes information about their projects, news articles, research reports, and more.
-
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
