Resources to help get you started
See recommended databases listed below. To view the entire list of library databases, click on Databases A-Z.
-
WorldCat Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowProvides references to articles published since 1964 that deal with the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. Will also display Bucknell's full-text access if Library Link is enabled.
-
Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the PresentThis remarkable work traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape.
-
Black Authors, 1556-1922 This link opens in a new windowCreated from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Black Authors, 1556-1922, offers more than 500 works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. Included are personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources Business, environment, history, library science, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, sciences and social science.
Quote
"American culture, from music to art to literature, would not be what it is today without the creativity, ingenuity, and brilliance of enslaved people."
(Clint Smith, American writer, poet, and scholar)
