African American History Newspaper Sources
See the News Sources guide for additional resources.
-
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch the NY Times (1851-2007), Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), Washington Post (1877-1993), and the LA Times (1881-1986) and more.
-
African American Newspapers, 1827 -1998 This link opens in a new windowExplore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press from 1991 to the present. Searches are available in English and Spanish, as well as by article type and ethnic group.
-
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowNote: Among its collections, Accessible Archives includes the following African American newspapers: The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), The Colored American (1837-1841), Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1855; 1859-1863), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The National Era (1847-1860), The North Star (1847-1851), Provincial Freeman (1854-1857), and Weekly Advocate (1837).
-
Black Historical Newspapers - Chicago DefenderThe Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
-
Black Historical Newspapers - NY Amsterdam NewsNew York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
-
Black Historical Newspapers--Pittsburgh CourierPittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
-
Chronicling AmericaProvides free access to select American historic newspapers held in libraries across the country.
