MLA International Bibliography: The PRIMARY search tool for literature research
- Tutorials and Courses for Searching MLAHere you will find all kinds of tutorials about searching the MLA database. Don't forget that if you're looking for scholarly/peer reviewed materials in literary studies, MLA is where you should go!
Recommended American Literature Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA is the primary research database for literary studies. It indexes books, journal articles, and other materials from 1963 to the present concerning literature, folklore, linguistics, modern languages, and the dramatic arts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text to nearly 200 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- WorldCat Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.
Search the Oxford English Dictionary
Search Oxford English Dictionary
Recommended General Databases
Here you will find general research databases that will help you get started on your research. Use a specialized database on one of the English pages for more in-depth research.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowProvides references to articles published since 1964 that deal with the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowCitations of newspaper and periodical articles covering a broad range of subjects, including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides the full-text of articles from popular magazines such as TIME, Harper’s, and National Geographic.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations of articles from popular magazines that were published between 1890 and 1982.
Related Guides
You may also find this guide useful:
