Research by Subject: THEA 256: Rituals, Festivals, and Institutions: Library Resources

Getting Started

Credo Reference
Search the full-text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and other full-text reference books. Access to individual reference titles is also available from the Bertrand Library catalog.

Example Encyclopedia Articles from Credo:

WorldCat Library Catalog
Search for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.
Performing Arts Database
The Performing Arts Database offers access to citations, abstracts, and full text of articles from scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications. Subjects covered include dance, film, drama, opera, stagecraft, comedy, pantomime, puppetry, magic and television.
JSTOR
An archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA is the primary research database for literary studies. It indexes books, journal articles, and other materials from 1963 to the present concerning literature, folklore, linguistics, modern languages, and the dramatic arts.
Project Muse
Provides full text to nearly 200 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Historical Abstracts
Contains citations, abstracts, and some full text of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. Will also display Bucknell's full-text access if Library Link is enabled.

Work with a librarian to make the process of articulating your searches, looking for information, and using your sources less stressful and more productive!
Try to define what you want to find and how you want to use the information, not just what you want to learn 'about'.
Play around with keywords and where you search to broaden or narrow your results.
Remember that typing words into a search box isn't the only way of finding information.
1. If you find one helpful source, mine the bibliography or the citing sources to discover more resources.
2. If you see suggested index terms that seem highly relevant, search or click those.
3. See what else the authors have written, or recent research in the journal/series.