Find scholarly articles, books, etc!
Here is a list of databases that will help you find scholarly materials for your class projects. PsycINFO is your best bet for general psychology. Try Web of Science and PsycINFO for neuroscience.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers the academic research and practice literature in all areas of psychology. Be sure to use the limits on the right side of your search results screen to narrow your results. PsycInfo indexes journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents in dozens of languages.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowPsycArticles contains the full text of peer-reviewed, scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research with articles from more than 80 journals published by the APA and related organizations.
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new windowPsycBOOKS is a full text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by APA, including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new windowPsychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
Additional Databases
- WorldCat Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. It contains a wide variety of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. Will also display Bucknell's full-text access if Library Link is enabled.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine database, which indexes the worldwide literature of medicine and life science from 1965 to the present.
Reference Sources
If you need a quick definition or some background information on a psychological term or concept, a reference source can help. Try searching the following databases for the terms you need.
Subject Librarian
Carrie Pirmann
she/her
Contact:
Bertrand Library
Research Help Area, Room 112
570.577.1068
carrie.pirmann@bucknell.edu
Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Research Help Area, Room 112
570.577.1068
carrie.pirmann@bucknell.edu
Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM