Online Reference Sources
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry17th edition, 2017.
- Safari Tech BooksNow part of the O'Reilly Learning Platform, which includes live online training courses, interactive tutorials, eBooks, videos, and case studies. It offers on-demand learning for topics from Python, to data science, to management and leadership.
- Yaws' Handbook of Properties of the Chemical ElementsKnovel, 2011. Physical properties of chemicals and elements. Similar to the CRC Handbook, but searchable online.
Patents
Patents can provide a wealth of technical information on products and processes that isn't available anywhere else.
- U.S. Patent Office This link opens in a new windowSearch U.S. patents from 1790 - 1975 by patent number or classification. Search 1976 - present, full-text. To see patent drawings, you may need to download their .tiff file viewer.
- Google PatentsSearch and read the full text of patents from around the world. Easy access to patent illustrations.
- EspacenetAccess international patents through the European Patent Office. Keyword searching can get you to a few relevant patents, but searching by classification is recommended. Click on the classification letter to see more categories.
Essential Reference Books
Some print reference books are still very useful sources of information. This set can be found on the Reference book shelves, on the main floor of the Library:
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds byCall Number: QD246 .D5 1996 REF
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: QD65 .H3ISBN: 9781439855119Publication Date: 2011-06-06Essential reference for physical constants and other chemical data.
Knovel Digital Library
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowKnovel is a collection of over 800 essential reference books and databases from the world's leading publishers and professional societies in science and engineering.