Women's and Gender Studies: Reference Sources

The path-breaking Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories is an accessible, multidisciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought. The Encyclopedia contains over 500 authoritative entries commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas.

Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, this encyclopedia contains over 900 entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, in which the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.

This work contains contributions from international scholars on many aspects of gender as it relates to society and on society as it relates to gender. Covers topics including arts, popular culture, sports, biographies, crime and criminal justice, economics, environment, ecology, politics, public policy, social movements, science, research, education, and technology.

Addresses important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethnicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

This reference set documents the achievements and current challenges for all women, providing distortion-free and newly available information about women's status, in matters from education to violence, in more than 130 countries in the world's most populated areas.

The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. The encyclopedia is divided into two volumes: Topics and Cultures. The combination of topical overviews and varying cultural portraits makes this a unique reference work.