Research by Subject: Religious Studies: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (online)

Encyclopedia of Religion
This extensive reference work for the field of religious studies contains articles addressing all aspects of religion from a cross-cultural perspective.
Encyclopedia Judaica
An essential reference work on Judaism, this extensive encyclopedia covers all aspects of Jewish history, culture, and religion.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Articles consider the history of Islam over the past thirteen centuries and examine its role in the contemporary world.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Contains entries on the history, doctrines, texts, and schools of Buddhism, as well as information on important people and religious practices.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
This extensive encyclopedia contains articles on the history, personalities, theology, and philosophy of the Catholic Church.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Entries primarily focus on concepts relating to ethical theory, or on topics that are important to theory.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A comprehensive, online, open access resource covering all aspects of philosophy - from concepts to people to schools of thought. Maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field, this is a great place to start your research on topics having to do with ethics or the philosophy of religion.

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.