Recommended Linguistics Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA is the primary research database for literary studies. It indexes books, journal articles, and other materials from 1963 to the present concerning literature, folklore, linguistics, modern languages, and the dramatic arts.
- Linguistics Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers the academic research and practice literature in all areas of psychology. Be sure to use the limits on the right side of your search results screen to narrow your results. PsycInfo indexes journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents in dozens of languages.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text to nearly 200 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
- Handbook of Translation Studies OnlineBrowsable and searchable reference source, containing entries about issues/topics in translation, interpretation, localization, editing, etc.
Linguistics Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780080448541Publication Date: 2006-04-27The most authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive, and international reference source in its field.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by ISBN: 9783540296782Publication Date: 2008-12-04Includes in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. Also includes detailed introductory chapters on topics such as fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780195139778Publication Date: 2003-05-01The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics. Entries of up to four thousand words survey the major fields of study, while shorter entries treat specific topics, define and discuss technical terms and provide sketches of the careers of important scholars in the history of linguistics.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain by ISBN: 9780080548036Publication Date: 2002-07-04Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.
Librarian
Recommended Internet Sources
Here you will find some useful websites for this subject area. If you have suggestions for additional links, please contact your Subject Librarian!
- The OTS Linguistics LexiconModerated online linguistics dictionary
- Ethnologue - Languages of the WorldAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages.
- MITWPL: MIT Working Papers in LinguisticsFounded in 1979, MIT Working Papers in Linguistics is an entirely student-managed organization, run by the graduate students in the MIT Doctoral Program in Linguistics. MITWPL is dedicated to promoting student linguistic research by publishing dissertations and papers and, with the proceeds, equitably funding travel, fieldwork and equipment purchases.
- Speech Accent ArchiveThe speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers.
- Linguistics Resources on the InternetA topically organized list of resources elsewhere on the Internet that may be of interest to the linguist.