Recommended Hebrew Databases
These are the main databases for research in Hebrew. If your topic is multidisciplinary, please consult guides in other subject areas for additional databases.
- RAMBI This link opens in a new windowRAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from periodicals and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library. To search the online database in English, select "English" in the upper left hand corner of the welcome page. Then select “Index of Articles on Jewish Studies [RAMBI]" to get to the search screen.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA is the primary research database for literary studies. It indexes books, journal articles, and other materials from 1963 to the present concerning literature, folklore, linguistics, modern languages, and the dramatic arts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of core, scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas. Coverage begins with the very first issue through all but recent years.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text to nearly 200 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. Will also display Bucknell's full-text access if Library Link is enabled.
News Sources
- ABYZ Israel News SourcesOnline news sources from Israel
Librarian
Hebrew Reference Sources
Here you will find dictionaries and other resources that will help you with common Hebrew research and translation tasks.
- Morfix Online DictionaryOnline Hebrew/English dictionary.
- Institute for the Translation of Hebrew LiteratureThe Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature (ITHL) was founded in 1962 to acquaint foreign readers with the best of modern Hebrew literature.
- Encyclopedia JudaicaAn essential reference work on Judaism, this extensive encyclopedia covers all aspects of Jewish history, culture, and religion.
- Lexicon of Modern Hebrew LiteratureModern Hebrew Literature - a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon.
- Jewish Virtual LibraryThe Jewish Virtual Library (JVL) is your source for information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism and Judaism. The JVL currently has more than 25,000 articles and 10,000 images and is accessed by users in more than 230 countries and territories worldwide.