Research your Architect:
- WorldCat Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, articles, and more that are held by Bucknell and beyond.
* For architects with common names, like Richard Meier or Philip Johnson, you'll have to add "architect" as a keyword in the search box.
** Note that many books on architecture will be "oversized", which is common for books with a lot of pictures. This means the book is physically too tall for the normal shelves and will be in the "oversized" section with other tall books on whatever floor holds that call number.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online provides us with access to Grove Art, with tens of thousands of encyclopedia entries providing information on artists, works, schools, and many important places and events in Art History. Many of the more in-depth entries (primarily artists, schools, and important works) include bibliographies to help further your research & understanding.
Furniture, Architecture, and Design Images
The Grammar of Ornament by ISBN: 9781400882717Publication Date: 2016-07-26A complete and unabridged full-color edition of the classic sourcebook on ornamental design First published in 1856, The Grammar of Ornament remains a design classic.
Early American Decorative Arts, 1620-1860 by ISBN: 9780759119444Publication Date: 2010-09-16Winterthur Museum is world renowned for its decorative arts collections and its exceptional educational programs. Adapted from the training materials developed at the museum, the revised and enhanced Early American Decorative Arts, 1620-1860: A Handbook for Interpreters is an indispensable guide for anyone involved with interpretation of decorative arts collections.
American Architecture: ideas and ideologies in the late twentieth century by ISBN: 9780585307305Publication Date: 1993-01-01
- LIFE photo archiveSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
Copyright and images
The nature of copyright law means that it is much harder to make a 'fair use' case for a photograph or other artwork that is reproduced in its entirety (fair use are specific infringing uses that are seen as justified under the law). Consider practicing looking for resources that are available under creative commons, like those listed below:
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window This searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality digital images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Although its strengths are visual art and architecture, Artstor includes images that are useful in both the humanities and the sciences.
Image Resources Guide
Tips for Searching
When searching for digital images in an online database, it is important that you use effective search terms. If you are searching for images of a chair, it is helpful to know what kind of chair you are looking for ... do a little research into the period and style you are interested in by consulting books and other reference sources. Also, consult reference sources to learn more about architectural terms and styles.
If you are looking for books with images of American domestic architecture, here are some helpful Library of Congress Subject Headings to try in WorldCat:
Architecture, Domestic--New England
Furniture Design