Research by Subject: Multimedia Resources: Video

Video Collections

Videoblocks
Video, motion backgrounds, and effects for use in your projects. Contact Brianna Derr for login information.
Internet Archive: Moving Images Archive
Online library of free movies, films, and videos. Contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users.
YouTube
Search for video content and filter by Creative Commons license to find content with reuse rights.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
U.S. government YouTube channel
The official YouTube channel of the U.S. Government. Most content produced by the U.S. government falls in the public domain.
Open Video Project
A repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
Europeana
Digital archive of over two million images, texts, sounds, and videos from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe.
C-Span Video Library
NOTE: Link to copyright and licensing guidelines at bottom of page.
Audio and Video links
Provided by Ohio State University's Digital Storytelling Program
National Archives Community Video
Lots of footage, including old commercials and government videos
35mm Stock Footage

See About page for licensing information

Resources by Language

europeana
Find text, image, audio and video resources by language. Type in your search term, and then limit "By language of description."

Citing Videos

Always give full credit - In your citation you should include the creator, title of the work, date of publication, and URL. (Note: Youtube should not be cited as the creator; instead provide the name of the user or company who made the original content)

Disclaimer

Disclaimer: This guide covers basic issues of copyright for Bucknell students who may need to use copyrighted information in their course work. It is not intended as legal advice. More information is available on the mybucknell copyright site (login may be required), which includes our institution's policy.