News Sources: Historical News Sources

Provides access to diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture including: Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800); Civil War newspapers; African American newspapers (19th century); Godey’s Lady's Book (1830-1880); and Delaware County, PA newspapers (1819-1870).

Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, and maps in a single cross-search interface.

Newspapers.com (Library Edition) is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers.

Provides access to citations of articles from popular magazines that were published between 1890 and 1982.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

This database provides access to a fully searchable collection of more than 140 Caribbean newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries.

More than 130 searchable newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states.

Includes cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic (1690-2000) newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images.

Search the New York Times (1851 - 2015), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2001), Washington Post (1877- 2002), and the L.A Times (1881 - 1995) Historical Newspaper databases and more.

Provides access to hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers cover-to-cover, including articles, advertisements, and illustrations.

Explore history through the perspective of the Communist Party USA. Workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored within the pages of these Communist Party newspapers.

Newspapers.com (Library Edition) is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Includes full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th century British society.

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.