ENLS 358/658: Shakespeare and History

Contains citations, abstracts, and some full text of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.

Bucknell University is a member of the HathiTrust Digital Library, a collaborative effort among libraries and research institutions to collect, preserve, and provide access to a comprehensive archive of materials. Log in by selecting Bucknell from the list of institutions to access millions of full-text public domain, open access, and government materials. See our HathiTrust guide for more information about using the collections.

MLA is the primary research database for literary studies. It indexes books, journal articles, and other materials from 1963 to the present concerning literature, folklore, linguistics, modern languages, and the dramatic arts.

From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online contains titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Tract Supplement - all in full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection. This database contains over 100,000 titles published from 1474-1800 in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Search the full-text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and other full-text reference books. Access to individual reference titles is also available from the Bertrand Library catalog.