The American Theological Library Association Religion Database (ATLA) provides citations and limited full text of scholarship on religion and theology, with extensive coverage of East Asian religion and spiritual practice.
This database, which covers all aspects of the fine, decorative, and commercial arts, is useful for finding information about the art, architecture, and material culture of East Asia. It includes full text journal articles published after 1997 as well as citations and abstracts for articles, dissertations, reviews, and other literature published after 1984.
A research portal covering important global issues, conflicts and events. Search or browse by topic to discover pages devoted to particular countries or to specific issues such as China’s one child policy and the 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan. These pages provide a brief overview of the topic as well as links to scholarly articles, news sources, video, statistics, and other information.
Contains information about books, articles, conference proceedings, government documents, and other resources relating to public and social policy, including topics such as government, international relations, business, economics, and the environment. This is a good place to search for information about current issues, government, and policy affecting East Asia.
If you are looking for digital images of the art or architecture of East Asia, ARTstor is a great place to begin. This searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Create an account using your Bucknell e-mail address in order to download images for academic research and presentations that you don’t plan to publish or share online.
This website provides high definition images of art and cultural artifacts from Japan from the collections of four national museums (Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum and Kyushu National Museum).
Coverage includes Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, British Theatre, British Politics and Society, Corvey Collection of European Literature, Europe and Africa, Photography, Science-Technology-and Medicine, Women, Science Part 2, Children-Literature and Childhood, Mapping the World, and Religion. Expand your search with the Artemis Primary Sources link on the database home page.
Contains entries on topics relating to China's past and present - provinces and cities, religion, the arts, literature, politics, educational systems, and more. This is a good resource to use to find basic information about individual writers, artists, and political figures, styles of literature and art, and periods in Chinese history.
This encyclopedia of Chinese culture since 1980 includes articles relating to politics, religion, language, the arts, fashion, and more. There are more than a thousand entries on topics as obscure as "Dance Troops," "Pancakes," the "Wild Children Folk-music duo," and as well known as contemporary Taoism and Tienanmen Square.
Full-text access to legal, news, business, medical, and reference information. Using this database, you can find articles from several East Asian newspapers, including Japan Times, The Daily Yomiuri (Tokyo), and the South China Morning Post.