Research by Subject: European History: Reference and Additional Resources

Reference Sources

Online Reference subject guide
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Provides access to authoritative information on more than 170,000 places and areas around the world. Entries cover: demography, physical geography and political boundaries; industry, trade, and agriculture; cultural, historical, and archaeological points of interest; transportation lines, longitude, latitude, and elevations; official government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.

Eurodocs
Selected online sources for European history
Avalon Project Documents
Documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Vision of Britain through time
Vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001, includes maps, statistical trends and historical descriptions.
Medieval and Renaissance Illuminated Manuscripts
NY Public Library digital collection of manuscripts from Western Europe
Proceedings of Old Bailey
Searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing over 195,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
Hansard Parliamentary Debates
In-progress British digitization project led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Provides visual, manuscript and printed materials to explore the history of 15 major commodities, and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. Commodities included are: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver & gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, wine & spirits.
First World War This link opens in a new window
Includes a wealth of primary source material about the First World War, from personal narratives and printed books to military files, propaganda pamphlets and visual documents. The material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary material, including scholarly essays, case studies and interactive maps.

British History Online
A digital library about people and places from the medieval and early modern period, built by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Bucknell University is a member of the HathiTrust Digital Library, a collaborative effort among libraries and research institutions to collect, preserve, and provide access to a comprehensive archive of materials. Log in by selecting Bucknell from the list of institutions to access millions of full-text public domain, open access, and government materials. See our HathiTrust guide for more information about using the collections.

David Rumsey map collection
Online collection of over 38,000 items, with new additions added regularly.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Historic and contemporary maps of all regions of the world provided by the University of Texas Libraries.

Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition
Link to the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed.