The Ellen Clarke Bertrand Library

Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies: Library Databases

Library Databases and Indexes

Additional Databases that may be Helpful

*Note* because of the interdisciplinary nature of Classics and Ancient Mediterranean studies, you may find helpful resources in other databases and resources in addition to the ones we tend to recommend first for this field. Some additional resources are listed below.

Remember to keep a critical eye, feel free to meet with Eloise, and try exploring the full list of our databases to learn/find more.

What is a "Library Database"?

A library database is a searchable collection of sources (or information *about* sources) that typically includes a high proportion of scholarly, peer-reviewed material. Libraries subscribe to databases so you, your classmates, and your professors can have easier access to high-quality information and scholarship to support your research and work.

Databases on this page

Access full text?

Q: Why can't I access full text for everything when I search through library sources?

A: Good question! We wish more information was readily and easily available to be used and learned from (that's kinda what libraries are about!). Sadly, there are often different copyright and monetary interests that work against this wish. Some library resources are databases, which means that they collect and store searchable resources with the full text right there in the database. Others are indexes and provide citations and information *about* sources on a particular topic to give you a better understanding of what exists and what titles, journals, and authors to look for. Most library resources are a combination. If you find a source in an index and can't access the full text through a Worldcat search or google search for the title, you can request access through interlibrary loan