Classical Texts
Often, our work requires us to analyze primary texts, either in their original language or in translation. These resources below are some of the best online for finding and reading primary texts from the ancient world.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowFully searchable virtual library of Greek and Latin literature presented side-by-side with English language translations. This is the digital version of the classic book series published by Harvard University Press.
- Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThis evolving digital library of resources for the study history centers on a flagship collection of materials for the study of the Classical world. The Greek and Roman collection includes both primary and secondary source material, and the Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser includes digital images of ancient art, architecture, and artifacts.
- The Internet Classics ArchiveOver 400 ancient texts (primarily Greek and Roman, with some Persian and Chinese texts) in translation.
- Library of Ancient Texts OnlineCatalogue/link collection of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in their original Greek and in English translations.
Art and Architecture Resources
Being able to see the art, artifacts, and architecture from the time and places we are studying will enrich our understanding of our topic, improve our work, and will sometimes be required for our papers, presentations, or other assignments. Below are some resources where you might find what you are looking for. (Don't forget to cite your images when you use them!)
|
Siren between two lions on Corinthian Vase. 6th century BC, Photographed: 1992. Perseus Digital Library, http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/artifact?name=W%26%23252%3brzburg+L+120&object=Vase |
|
Laureate bust of Hadrian on coin. 134-138 BCE, Photographed 1998. Perseus Digital Library http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/artifact?name=Boston+1973.642&object=Coin |
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowThis searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality digital images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Although its strengths are visual art and architecture, Artstor includes images that are useful in both the humanities and the sciences.
- Classical Art Research Centre and The Beazley Archive (University of Oxford)The Beazley Archive of the Classical Art Research Centre comprises the largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery in the world. From this website, you can search the pottery database, as well as other databases relating to the material culture of the ancient world.
IMPORTANT NOTE: The Classical Art Research Centre's database is for educational, academic or research use, but may not reproduce/publish any part of its content. - Perseus Digital Library: Art and Archaeology Artifact BrowserDescriptive catalog records for ancient art objects, artifacts, buildings, and sites, often accompanied by a photograph. Not all images are available for download. Best used as a discovery tool to explore Classical material culture.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection DatabaseImages of artworks and objects from the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
- British Museum Online Collection DatabaseDigital images of objects in the collection of the British Museum, known for its important collection of art and artifacts from the ancient world.