Selected databases
Tips for searching newspaper databases
Use advanced search
Limit by date/date range, location, publication name, article type, etc.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch the New York Times (1851 - 2015), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2001), Washington Post (1877- 2002), and the L.A Times (1881 - 1995) Historical Newspaper databases and more.
- Newspapers.com - World Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers.com (Library Edition) is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic (1690-2000) newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images.
For scholarly articles and book chapters
America: History & Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada. This database is considered the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history., providing full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowProvides references to articles published since 1964 that deal with the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Additional resources
- HathitrustThrough a partnership of academic & research institutions, Hathitrust offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Cities and Towns (Library of Congress)Includes maps that depict individual buildings to panoramic views of large urban areas. These maps record the evolution of cities illustrating the development and nature of economic activities, educational and religious facilities, parks, street patterns and widths, and transportation systems.
- Gale Primary SourcesGale Primary Sources combines Gale's digital archives in a single cross-search interface, to provide access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
- Penn PilotHistorical aerial photos - Pennsylvania
Historical Research Tips
- Learning Historical Research - a guideAn excellent resource compiled by William Cronon and others which provides a basic introduction to historical research.
History Librarian
Olmstead Park, Buffalo NY
"The Park” (1875), Richard Veenfliet (1843 – 1922) Collection of the Buffalo History Museum.
Frederick Law Olmstead designed this park to enable strolling around the lake and down the paths that lead through woods and meadows, always presenting a fresh view to visitors.