Email: illdept@bucknell.edu
Phone: 570-577-3115
Hours: 9am-5:30pm M-F
Address: Bucknell University, Bertrand Library ILL, One Dent Drive, Lewisburg, PA 17837
Bertrand Library welcomes ILL requests from any and all libraries, including non-OCLC libraries and international libraries. Libraries outside of OCLC should fill out an ALA request form and email it to illdept@bucknell.edu. Bertrand Library also participates in RapidILL for article delivery and PALCI EZBorrow for loan deliveries.
Individuals outside of Bucknell University wanting to borrow an item from Bertrand should contact their local library to place a request.
Bertrand Library will not charge libraries to borrow physical items. Copy requests for articles or book chapters will cost a flat fee of $10, unless otherwise noted in a reciprocal agreement.
The maximum amount that Bertrand Library will spend to borrow a single item is $150. Requests costing more than $150 may be approved after consideration by the ILL team for the item’s rarity and usefulness to research.
The ILL department aims to respond to all loan requests within two business days of receipt. Lending request queues will be checked throughout the workday. As part of the OCLC Express program, the ILL department will aim to respond to all article requests within 18 hours of receipt. Rush requests will be responded to as soon as staff is available. All planned department closures will be noted in the OCLC Policies directory.
Bertrand Library is open to reciprocal agreements with other libraries when it is mutually beneficial.
Bertrand Library will make books from our general stacks, Bucknell University Press books, DVD’s, and government documents available for lending. We reserve the right to deny or conditional requests for rare or fragile items.
Items in the following collections are not available for interlibrary loan lending: eBooks, Current Reading Collection, Reference Collection, Special Collections, Career Development Collection, Yearbooks, Thesis, CD’s, Course Reserves, Journals and Newspapers, and books not located in Bertrand Library (such as items in the Vaughan Lit Library, the Weis Center, the Teaching and Learning Center).
Lending of microforms will be considered on a case-by-case basis depending on the rarity of the item and the availability of microform readers at the borrowing library.
Documents held in the Bucknell Digital Commons will only be lent if the author has indicated that their work may be shared outside of Bucknell.
For all requests received via OCLC or ALA form, the borrowing library will receive automated overdue emails at one week overdue, three weeks overdue, and six weeks overdue. At seven weeks overdue, Bertrand Library will create and send an invoice for lost book charges. Payment will be due 30 days after receipt of the invoice. Libraries that do not return the overdue item or pay the invoice within 90 days may be blocked from further borrowing.
Requests received via PALCI EZBorrow will follow EZBorrow's set overdue policies. This means that the borrowing library will receive overdue notices at four weeks overdue and six weeks overdue. At seven weeks overdue, Bertrand Library will begin the billing process according to EZBorrow guidelines.
Libraries will be charged $75 for each unreturned item. Payment via check is preferred, although payment via IFM dummy request can also be arranged. In addition, borrowing libraries can also send a new copy of the item as replacement. The replacement copy must be the same edition or newer than the lost copy, and be in excellent condition. Borrowing libraries should communicate their intent to send a replacement copy with Bucknell ILL staff.
Bertrand Library follows copyright law and CONTU guidelines regarding the copy of articles and book chapters. For items held in our print collection, this means that we will only copy one chapter from a book per request. Additionally, because of limited staffing, we are unable to scan more than 50 pages for a single request. Any requests that exceed one chapter or 50 pages will be canceled. For items held in our online collection, such as ebooks, we follow publisher limits regarding how much is allowed to be downloaded.
Items returned damaged will be reviewed by ILL staff to see if the item can be reasonably repaired. If the item is beyond repair, the lending library will be billed for replacement of the item. Examples of irreparable damages include: liquid stains, excessive writing or highlighting, and large sections of loose or missing pages. Damages that are generally repairable include: torn or bent covers, small numbers of loose pages, most spine damage, and separated covers.
Bertrand Library will only recall items if they are needed for Bucknell Course Reserves. Borrowing libraries are expected to return recalled items as soon as possible.