Civic Engagement Resources: Pedagogy, Instructional Design, and Assessment

This edited collection, the first of its kind, marries the two fastest-growing movements in higher education: service-learning and eLearning. While these two innovative pedagogies are widely assumed to be incompatible, this collection highlights their complementary approaches as a new teaching method for 21st Century learners. The collection offers a new pedagogical model—service-service eLearning—defined as an integrative pedagogy that engages learners through technology in civic inquiry, service, reflection, and
action.

This book addresses the teaching dilemmas that instructors and students encounter in service-learning courses. The experienced contributors to this book offer pedagogical strategies for constructing service-learning courses, and non-prescriptive approaches to dilemmas for which there can be no definitive solutions.

Educating Students to Make-a-Difference covers a range of issues related to service learning, addressing the "who," "why," and "so what" of service-learning experiences. It provides information that will aid in the development of service-learning programs and courses. The in-depth studies on student volunteerism found in this book will show you how incorporating student service objectives into your curriculum can improve your students' self-esteem and school involvement, as well as alleviate depression and problem behavior.

This volume presents research on--and deepens understanding of--teaching strategies that foster the knowledge, skills and dispositions of college graduates to be actively engaged in their communities as citizens and civic-minded professionals. The first section offers an overview of civic learning and the importance of intentional service learning course design to reach civic outcomes. The next section employs various disciplinary perspectives to identify theories and conceptual frameworks for conducting research on student civic outcomes. The third section focuses on research methods and designs to improve research using quantitative and qualitative approaches, cross-institutional research strategies, longitudinal designs, authentic data, and local and national data sets.

Quick Hits for Service-Learning presents more than 80 examples of innovative curricula, designed to combine community service with instruction and reflection. Seven chapters offer tips for classroom activities that focus on the education of children and youth; civic awareness, engagement, and activism; language, literature, and communication; global studies and local outreach to exceptional populations; the study of history, the social sciences, and the arts; business, industry, and the health sciences; and the teaching of research and other "tools of the trade."

This work is a resource for programme evaluators and researchers who want to inform the practice of service learning. It advocates the use of multiple-item scales, presents the rationale for their use, and explains how readers can evaluate them for reliability and validity.

This valuable resource explains the benefits of service learning and provides a step-by-step guide for using the instructional model. It features nine service-learning projects that are broken down into basic, intermediate, and advanced levels. In this single resource, teachers will find everything they need to successfully implement service learning projects, helping students gain deeper understandings of content while positively impacting their communities.

Too often teachers and students doubt their own abilities to forge collective work and dynamic critical learning in the midst of education reform practices that limit their opportunities to do so. This doubt can be heightened for elementary school teachers or even their students who are led to believe that they are not capable of engaging critically with their education and their world. The Problem-Solution Project erases this doubt through merging service-learning, critical pedagogy, and constructivism.

Combining service-learning and the asset framework in congregational, school, and youth program settings, this resource is designed as a workbook and includes ideas, suggestions, and worksheets to make the most of the asset-building potential of any service-learning program.

An annotated bibliography linking public service with the curriculum.

This book serves as an introduction to using online teaching technologies and hybrid forms of teaching for experiential learning and civic engagement. It considers the instructional potential of common mobile technologies - phones, tablets and mobile reading devices. The authors also address potential limitations, such as technology challenges, difficulties sustaining three-way communication among the instructor, community partner, and students, and added workload.

This book will help post-secondary educators to discover the joys and challenges of implementing theoretically grounded civic engagement projects on their campuses. The essays on civic engagement and public scholarship are written by an interdisciplinary group of community college faculty who have designed and implemented civic engagement projects in their classrooms. The projects they describe stand at the intersection of research, theory and pedagogy.

Introduction to Service-Learning Toolkit is an essential resource for faculty and administrators who wish to be part of the growing movement toward civic engagement in higher education.

This handbook is designed to help departments develop strategies for including community-based work in their teaching and scholarship, making community-based experiences a standard expectation for majors, and encouraging civic engagement and progressive change at the departmental level. It acts as both a resource and a curriculum, assisting others in replicating the Engaged Department Institutes offered nationwide by Campus Compact. The toolkit comes with a CD-ROM with key information from the text as well as PowerPoint slides and sample documents that can be adapted to meet the needs of individual departments.