.
Photography
Searching for something that you can't find here? Make sure to take a look at the Museum & Library Collections page on this guide!
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowThis searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality digital images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Although its strengths are visual art and architecture, Artstor includes images that are useful in both the humanities and the sciences.
- Flickr: The CommonsView images with no known copyright restrictions from photography archives from around the world.
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online CatalogThis collection of digital image from the Library of Congress includes photographs, fine and popular prints, posters, and other graphic ephemera representing the American past.
- LIFE Photo ArchiveSearch or browse through millions of historical photographs from the LIFE Photo Archive (1750s - present)
- Photomuse.orgSearchable database of photographs from the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film and the International Center of Photography (ICP). Also includes digital exhibitions on topics relating to the history of photography.
- U.S. Government Photos and ImagesPhotographs and images from several government departments arranged by topic (Health and Nutrition, Science and Technology, etc.)
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Not finding what you're looking for?
There are so many digital image collections that it is impossible to list them all on this guide. If you're not having luck with these resources, make sure to take a look at these other guides for finding images.
Using ARTstor (Tutorials)
Visit ARTstor on YouTube for tutorials about registering and using the database.