Image Resources: Natural Sciences

Explore illustrated zoological and botanical texts, early landscape photography, cyanotypes of British algae, and much more from the collection of the New York Public Library.

Explore images of paintings, prints, and objects illustrating the history of science in this multidisciplinary database created by faculty, staff, and students at California State University.

A project of the American Geological Institute (AGI), the Image Bank includes over 6,000 geoscience images available for educational use.

Historical images from the U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library, all in the public domain.

This site enables you to search across federal databases to find images produced by several U.S. government agencies. You can also navigate to a specific agency image database to perform a narrower search. The databases included are: NASA Image eXchange (NIX), NOAA Photo Library, NSF Image Collection, USDA Plant Image Gallery, and USGS Multimedia Gallery.

Billed as "the largest Ultrastructure images gallery online," BIODIC provides access to a wide variety of electron micrographs in the field of Biology. Categories include Anatomy, Animal Biology, Cell Biology, Plant Biology, Monera-prokaryots, Fungi, and Protists.

A bank of digital photographs, diagrams, videos, and animations that can be used and adapted for teaching biology. Categories include Eubacteria, Protista, Fungi. Plantae Animalia, Human Biology, Histology.

Over 6,500 images of primates from the Jacobsen Library of the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center (University of Wisconsin-Madison).

This searchable database of photographs and line drawings of plants emphasizes those growing in the United States, but contains foreign plants as well.

A project of the American Geological Institute (AGI), the Image Bank includes over 6,000 geoscience images available for educational use.

Images of the universe, our planet, and astronauts created by NASA and available through the Internet Archive. Images are generally copyright free (for the few exceptions, read the "terms" section of the website).

Images of the Cosmos taken by the Hubble Space Telescope.