.
History
- America from the Great Depression to World War II: Photographs from the FSA-OWI, 1939-45 (Library of Congress)Digitized documentary photographs taken by U.S. government photographers.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowThis searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality digital images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Although its strengths are visual art and architecture, Artstor includes images that are useful in both the humanities and the sciences.
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online CatalogThis collection of digital image from the Library of Congress includes photographs, fine and popular prints, posters, and other graphic ephemera representing the American past.
- LIFE Photo ArchiveSearch or browse through millions of historical photographs from the LIFE Photo Archive (1750s - present)
- NYPL Digital Gallery - History and GeographyHistoric maps, photographs, illustrations, and more from the New York Public Library Digital Gallery.
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual RecordDigital images documenting slavery in the Americas, most of which date to the period of slavery itself.
- The New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection OnlineMore than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines, newspapers, original photographs, prints and postcards from the Picture Collection at the NYPL Mid-Manhattan Library. Most images date from before 1923.
- U.S. Geological Survey Photographic ArchiveHistorical images from the U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library, all in the public domain.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Not finding what you're looking for?
There are so many digital image collections that it is impossible to list them all on this guide. If you're not having luck with these resources, make sure to take a look at these other guides for finding images.
Using ARTstor (Tutorials)
Visit ARTstor on YouTube for tutorials about registering and using the database.