Although there are lots of great resources for finding art and architecture images listed on this page, you won't find links to museum's digital collections here. Make sure to take a look at the Museum & Library Collections page on this guide!
This searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality digital images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Although its strengths are visual art and architecture, Artstor includes images that are useful in both the humanities and the sciences.
AICT is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free- access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Google's Art Project allows you to view artwork from hundreds of museum collections. You can even take a virtual stroll through select galleries. Although educational use of this website is encouraged, images cannot be downloaded and printed. You can, however, zoom in to view images in extraordinary detail, create slideshows, and save and share images in your personal gallery.
This evolving digital library of resources for the study history centers on a flagship collection of materials for the study of the Classical world. The Greek and Roman collection includes both primary and secondary source material, and the Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser includes digital images of ancient art, architecture, and artifacts.
Not finding what you're looking for?
There are so many digital image collections that it is impossible to list them all on this guide. If you're not having luck with these resources, make sure to take a look at these other guides for finding images.