Research by Subject: Image Resources: Maps

Historical Maps

American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection
Maps from the 15th through the 21st Century from the collection of the American Geographical Society.
American Memory Map Collections (Library of Congress)
United States Maps from the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. Search by keyword, or browse by subject, creator, or map "type" (Transportation and Communication, Cities and Towns, Conservation and Environment, etc.).

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This searchable repository of over 1.6 million high quality digital images offers tools for viewing, sharing, and saving visual materials. Although its strengths are visual art and architecture, Artstor includes images that are useful in both the humanities and the sciences.

David Rumsey Map Collection
This maps collection has over 21,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Historic and contemporary maps of all regions of the world provided by the University of Texas Libraries.

Not finding what you're looking for?

There are so many digital image collections that it is impossible to list them all on this guide. If you're not having luck with these resources, make sure to take a look at these other guides for finding images.