Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections/University Archives: Access and Use

Location and Hours

Special Collections/University Archives is a secure area located in room 028 on Lower Level I of the Ellen Clarke Bertrand Library. To gain entry, press the buzzer to the right of the door and wait for staff. Visitors and researchers are asked to register and agree to Special Collections/University Archives' Access and Use Policy.

Special Collections/University Archives' open hours are Monday through Friday: 8:30 am-noon and 1:00 pm - 4:30 pm. Exceptions to this schedule are holidays and academic breaks when the Bertrand Library building is closed. Visitors and researchers are encouraged to contact scua@bucknell.edu to confirm Special Collections/University Archives' open hours and to make a research appointment. 

Bertrand Library and service desk hours

Bucknell campus map & directions

Use Guidelines

Special Collections/University Archives endorses the guidelines outlined in the  American Library Association and Society of American Archivists Joint Statement on Access to Original Research Materials

Collections are housed in closed stacks that may only be accessed by Special Collections/University Archives staff. Visitors and researchers are restricted to working in the LaFayette Butler Reading Room which is monitored by staff. Researchers must register before using collections and their signature indicates that they agree to adhere to Special Collections/University Archives  Access and Use Policy. Researchers are responsible for safeguarding the material they are using and must handle material with care. Note taking is allowed, using paper and pencils, computers, or cell phones. 

Special Collections/University Archives

Profile Photo
Special Collections/ University Archives
Contact:
For questions or appointments contact
scua@bucknell.edu
570.577.3101
Hours: M-F
8:30am-12:00pm
1:00pm-4:30pm
Website